on Slammed (Slammed #1) by Colleen Hoover.

Hi.

I need to sort out my priorities. Last night, instead of cramming insanely boring financial accounting, I gave Slammed a try. It’s a quite popular new adult book on Goodreads, but I was resisting it for a while, because some of the reviews. I started Sins & Needles but because of my brain not working at midnight, I decided to defer that book and read something easy without the need to turn on my brain properly. So here we go again!

Synopsis:

slammed

Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.

Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.

Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.

(*may contain spoilers*)

The book started good, the writing wasn’t the worst but not the best either. First, I don’t have anything against Layken, I feel sorry for her. However, when she meets Will it goes a bit downhill for me. I couldn’t help myself but roll my eyes, because she literally knows him 5 minutes. I seriously don’t believe in love at first sight, but I get attraction at first sight. I just couldn’t eat up the fact that they were already in love with each other 8% in the book. To be fair, I enjoyed their date because it was interesting and fun. Then… We found out that he’s her teacher. Which is a bit weird, that the fact did not come up. She’s 18 for god’s sake, you should have checked first Will! The tension between them was sometimes good but I would classify this book more young adult than new adult, not a lot of steamy scenes.

My annoyance with Layken increased significantly when she wrote the poem “Mean”. I used to hate T-Swift for shit like that and right then and there I wanted to punch Layken. Just when I thought we found a bit of a common ground. Another moment when I wanted to punch her? When she assumed and acted like a total bitch to her mum. I think the writer was trying to make us believe what Layken did, but come on! Obviously her mum did not have an affair, but cancer. It was annoying to see Layken cry and all that angry tantrums with slamming the door (slamming doors was her usual activity). To sum Layken up, I mostly disliked her for really immature behaviour.

why?

As for Will –  I kind of like him. He seemed sweet and everything. Up until when he made a move on Layken and then said it was some kind of relapse. And then they got into a fight where I rolled my eyes and wanted to punch both of them.

punch you

The problem I had with this book was that I couldn’t understand properly why he couldn’t be with her after he left the high school? Or why didn’t they just said: ” Oh let’s wait few months and if we still feel the same, we’ll be together.” I guess, sometimes the main characters are not really rational.

What I really liked about this book? The slam poetry. The Avett Brothers (I have a soft spot for them). The friends. (Eddie and Gavin were funny and cute and I found myself more interested in their story at times.) And most of all, the brothers. They were just adorable and I related to the love Layken and Will have for their brothers. It was endearing and that’s probably why I didn’t totally hate them.

Overall, I thought the book was OK, not my favourite. I still decided to read the second book though, because I thought it ended quite abruptly. I’m probably going to finish tonight, so I might write a review tomorrow. I really enjoy this, I didn’t think I would like writing this much. I’m happy though.

Rating: 2-2.5 out of 5

Thank you for reading and if you want, comment.

Know-it-all

Leave a Reply

