on Charade (Games #1) by Nyrae Dawn.

Hello there.

I know I kind of promised Point of Retreat (Slammed #2), but I didn’t want to write another review like yesterday. Long story story short: I read it, didn’t like it, found another book. Which was a great decision! My list of to-read is quite long and after that I have a longer list of to-read so it’s not like I should browse Goodreads more. But I did and stumble on Charade. And I don’t know why, but the preview was good enough to make me read this book. So I did. And I loved it. And here is more about it!

Synopsis:

Charade

Nineteen-year-old Cheyenne tries to portray the perfect life to mask the memories of her past. Walking in on her boyfriend with another woman her freshman year in college threatens that picture of perfection.

Twenty-one-year-old Colt never wanted college and never expected to amount to anything, but when his mom’s dying wish is for him to get his degree, he has no choice but to pretend it’s what he wants too.

Cheyenne needs a fake boyfriend to get back at her ex and Colt needs cash to take care of his mom, so they strike a deal that helps them both. But what if Cheyenne’s past isn’t what she thought? Soon they’re trading one charade for another—losing themselves in each other to forget about their pain. The more they play their game, the more it becomes the only thing they have that feels real.

Both Cheyenne and Colt know life is never easy, but neither of them expect the tragedy that threatens to end their charade and rip them apart forever.

(*may contain spoilers*) 

Like I said above, I loved it. I think, it’s the best book I’ve read in 2015 so far. I wasn’t as excited for it as for Falling Away but I was so surprised that I enjoyed it so much. First, I loved the storyline. I loved how the book dealt with abandonment and death. It wasn’t predictable and kept me excitedly on my toes. The book was the perfect combination of sarcasm, sass, romance and drama. Honestly. I found the banter in the beginning of the book especially amusing. But the best part of the book? The main characters!

Cheynne, the girl, is not perfect. Ok, she’s hot but finally, she’s not pretending that she’s not! She knows it and she flaunts it! I was immediately rooting for her after the first page, where she’s giving her cheating boyfriend a piece of mind. “You go girl!!“was my reaction.

you go girl

Throughout the book, Cheynne did not annoy me at all. When I got to view things from her point of view I just had compassion with her and thought she definitely deserves a happy ending with Colt.

Speaking of Colt, my babe! He was different than other book boyfriends. He was straight forward, no bullshit and no games. Which I loved so much! He was so considerate, so loving, so sweet! (But obviously, he still was kind of a bad boy) And he didn’t even realise it. And his mum? He took such a good care of her. I was rooting for him the whole time and there wasn’t a doubt in my mind that Cheynne and Colt belong together. Ultimate babes, seriously.

Supporting characters were interesting enough, especially Colt’s mum. She was such a sweetheart and when she died, it left me with tears.

tearing up

I loved Cheynne’s roommate, she was great how she saw through Cheynne’s wall but didn’t push. Adrian, Colt’s best friend seems like a really perceptive guy and I loved that he gave Colt hard time for Cheynne.

Overall, this book was really, truly amazing. I enjoyed everything. The only minor slight issue was the transition from “the game” to “i love you” but it wasn’t that significant. I just thought that there would be a slightly more build up towards those words. I’m so glad that I read it and quite surprised it didn’t have more 5* reviews on Goodreads. I really, really recommend this book and hopefully, you will like it as much as I did. Or if you have read it, you’ll want to talk about it with me.

clapping

Rating: 5 out of 5

Thank you for reading!

Know-it-all

Leave a Reply

