on Captive In The Dark (The Dark Duet #1) by C.J. Roberts.

Hello.

I haven’t posted in a few days because I’ve been deciding what to post next. Sorry for that, if you’re reading this regularly. (Please, please, please!) Anyway, Captive In The Dark intrigued me for a long time. I could not decided if I want to read this or not. The reviews were very mixed ranging from “this is soooo disturbing” to “this was fucking mind-blowing”.  This book is suppose to be very disturbing, containing very explicit scenes and includes BDSM. It’s definitely more disturbing than Fifty Shades. So if you’re not up for it, don’t read this review because my curiosity got the best of me and I have read it.

Synopsis:

captured in the dark

Caleb is a man with a singular interest in revenge. Kidnapped as a young boy and sold into slavery by a power-hungry mobster, he has thought of nothing but vengeance. For twelve years he has immersed himself in the world of pleasure slaves searching for the one man he holds ultimately responsible. Finally, the architect of his suffering has emerged with a new identity, but not a new nature. If Caleb is to get close enough to strike, he must become the very thing he abhors and kidnap a beautiful girl to train her to be all that he once was.

Eighteen-year-old Olivia Ruiz has just woken up in a strange place. Blindfolded and bound, there is only a calm male voice to welcome her. His name is Caleb, though he demands to be called Master. Olivia is young, beautiful, naïve and willful to a fault. She has a dark sensuality that cannot be hidden or denied, though she tries to accomplish both. Although she is frightened by the strong, sadistic, and arrogant man who holds her prisoner, what keeps Olivia awake in the dark is her unwelcome attraction to him.

WARNING: This book contains very disturbing situations, dubious consent, strong language, and graphic violence.

(*may contain spoilers*)

I’m just going to say this now. I’m not really sure how I feel about it. I was confused throughout the book. Was it sexy? Was it disturbing? Was it romantic? I DO NOT KNOW. I had 5 status updates throughout this book and 4 of them are me saying that I’m conflicted, confused and not sure. Go figure.

i don't know

The thing is, I did not connect with the characters. I know that we should feel sorry for Olivia and Caleb but I didn’t. Don’t get me wrong, what happened to them was horrific, but I could just not find anything relatable. Maybe that was the problem. Not being able to imagine it. I tried. And then I had to stop immediately because I was very, very disturbed.

i tried

Olivia. I know this sounds horrible but I just thought that Olivia was stupid. Yes, it should be admirable that she was trying to stand her own…but seriously? You could have not found a worse moment to be brave, girl! In that fleeting moment when I tried to imagine it, I just could not understand why she just didn’t comply. The thing is, I don’t understand this problem at all. I don’t know how people react, yet I found Olivia annoying at times.

i don't like you

Caleb. I didn’t find him necessarily attractive. Yes, he is suppose to be hot, but again my imagination was lacking while reading this book. And then again, he went through some deep shit but I couldn’t feel sorry for him. That was not a good reason enough for keeping girls in slavery. And I know he’s trying to execute a revenge but I just don’t understand while he’s doing this for a “friend”. Yes, he did save Caleb, but I don’t think it’s a good enough for Caleb to this stuff. It’s just wasn’t justifiable enough for me.

What about the actual storyline? Huh. That’s more complicated. I wouldn’t say I liked it, but I also didn’t hate it. To be fair to this book, it’s very unique. And not predictable at all, so I really wanted to finish it so I knew how it ended. I didn’t think it was a very smooth reading, at times I though the transition was too fast and at times too slow. I don’t think there was any build up, so it didn’t make me excited. But I couldn’t wait to finish it. The sex scenes made me uncomfortable though. Not because I’m a prude (or I don’t think so) but I just didn’t find it sexy. Again, I was very conflicted. While reading, I shook my head and keep turning pages.

Overall, you know how I feel about this book. I don’t know if I want to recommend it. I did grabbed the second book and I think I will read the Epilogue (the third book) as well but it’s the curiosity more than anything. I think I will keep you updated about this series though. It’s intriguing enough.

Rating: 2 out of 5 (mainly because it’s not predictable!)

Thank you for reading!

Know-it-all

P.S. I will have a blurb and the cover for Aflame on Sunday. I am beyond excited. (It’s the continuation of Jared’s and Tate’s story from the Fall Away series – Bully.)

yay!

Leave a Reply

