on Seduced In The Dark (The Dark Duet #2) by C.J. Roberts.

Hi again.

I’m here with a review of the second book in The Dark Duet series. Yesterday, I wrote about my feelings toward Captive In The Dark… I finished Seduced overnight and yes, I am very tired and sleepy. Was it worth it? Yes and no. I don’t want to give anything away, but I liked it a bit more than than the first book. I think it’s because the story was developed better. Anyway, let’s talk about this! And don’t forget, this series is full of violence and some disturbing stuff. Don’t continue if you aren’t ready!

Synopsis:

seduced in the darkBOOK TWO OF THE DARK DUET
The exciting, titillating, and action-filled conclusion to Captive in the Dark.

What is the price of redemption?

Rescued from sexual slavery by a mysterious Pakistani officer, Caleb carries the weight of a debt that must be paid in blood.

The road has been long and fraught with uncertainty, but for Caleb and Livvie, it’s all coming to an end.

Can he surrender the woman he loves for the sake of vengeance?

Or will he make the ultimate sacrifice?

Quote:
It seemed to Caleb, the nature of human beings revolved around one empirical truth: we want what we cannot have. For Eve, it was the fruit of the forbidden tree. For Caleb, it was Livvie.

(*may contain spoilers*)

You have probably read my review for the first book so you know I felt at the beginning of this book. I desperately needed to know how it will end. When the books picks up, we get to see Olivia in the present safe and sound (to a degree) back in the States. It’s been a few months since the end of Captive and we slowly learn what had happened between then and now. To be honest, it annoyed me because I didn’t think the story was progressing fast enough. And the supporting characters…I think it was irrelevant to know how horny Agent Reed got while listening to Olivia’s story. (I get it might be a set up for another book, but I just did not care!)

So has my relationship with Caleb and Olivia improved? Hm. Olivia? Not so much. I just thought that her character development was strange but what do I know about people who are captured to become sex slaves, right? I just did not understand or connect with her. She made me very angry when she said that her situation “Bitch-slapped [her] into womanhood”. That’s not what you call womanhood darling, whatever that means. I don’t usually quote but this one just kept staring at me and I couldn’t help it. The only time I felt something for her was when bloody Caleb had sex with Celia RIGHT IN FRONT OF HER. That was a dick move. Yes, he is twisted and just a plain psycho but I don’t know why I just could not have the stomach to forgive him that! Caleb had disappointed me at that point and I was so mad! My relationship with him slightly improved since the first book because he was significantly less sadistic in comparison to him in Captive.

nodding

As for the supporting characters (in Captive there were almost none) I only liked Felipe. I thought he was the only with some brain, I guess. I have already commented on Agent Reed and if I forget that, than I have to take into consideration that he kind of sucked as an agent. I am not sure, but I don’t think that agents get so aggravated with victims of such horrors. (Or maybe I’ve been watching too much of Bones, where Agent Booth is an absolute babe.) And what about Dr. Sloan? I imagined her first very old. I then she’s some dominatrix? It was kind of a WTF moment for me but I endured it. Oh and I knew that Rafiq was a total disaster from the beginning!

WTF

The actual storyline was overall much more compelling than Captive but there was this moment at 28% where I thought I wouldn’t have the nerves to finish this. I attempted to look for a quick recap of this book but I couldn’t find one. I almost started banging my head into the wall… But I NEEDED TO FINISH THIS! So I did. And I just regret the first part but when the story dealt with more of Caleb’s past I was very intrigued and surprised. I loved that twist. And I said from the beginning that Rafiq was dodgy – just saying.

Proud

Do I recommend Seduced In The Dark? I think you should give it a chance if you were at least slightly curious about what will happen to Olivia and Caleb after the first book. Again, I felt conflicted about the characters though. I gave this book the same rating as Captive, because it just doesn’t deserve more. I connect way more with characters that have 3* rating. I am currently reading the Epilogue (book #3) and I want to finish it because it’s quite short and I didn’t want to give up. So far it’s just fluff and sex. Not very compelling.

Rating: 2 out of 5

Thank you for reading!

Know-it-all

Leave a Reply

