on Teach Me by Amy Lynn Steele.

Hello.

I have been MIA these past few days because… I hit a wall. Not literal one, just writing wise and book wise. I’ve read a few books but let’s be honest, they were not anything special and I didn’t feel like reviewing them. I have finally watched 22 Jump Street though, that was funny! But again, I just didn’t feel it. Weird, right? However, I have an exciting news. I have tickets for Fifty Shades of Grey in 2 weeks. I’m honestly very, very excited for it even though I’m not that big fan of the books. So now I promise you, I will review it. In 2 weeks! But back to business. The other day, I bought a book on Amazon called Teach Me. BIGGEST MISTAKE OF MY LIFE. And here’s why.

Synopsis: 16078128

When she was eight, Allison Starr began spending her summers with her aunt in San Diego. Nearly ten years later she is focused on her last year of high school and which colleges to apply to, not the attractive surfer who keeps showing up at the little corner of beach where she reads. She has no interest in a romantic relationship, especially one that starts in the summer and would be long distance. Ali tries to ignore him, but finds the boy on the beach much more distracting than the words in her books.

Cooper Perez has never surfed the same beach this many days in a row. He just can’t seem to change spots until he has the courage to talk to the girl who is always reading her books in the shade. When he finally approaches her he is overwhelmed with the instant attraction he feels for this beautiful and intelligent girl, even though she is three years younger. Cooper and Allison spend the rest of the summer together discovering their love of many things, including each other.

Summer eventually comes to an end, but their love does not. Allison heads home to start her senior year, but an opportunity brings Cooper closer to Allison than either of them would have expected.

Mr. Perez is the new English teacher at Allison’s high school.

(*spoilers free*)

This book is so misleading. I actually thought this might be an interesting read. You all remember me reading Slammed not long ago right? It was a teacher-student romance and I was curious how other authors have tackled this subject. And for some unknown reasons, I really liked the simplistic cover of the book. Yes, I know I should have known that this book sucked by the name of it. But the thing is, other weird names of books didn’t necessarily meant that the book sucked! So I bought it. I was quite looking forward to it, because it has only 189 pages. I assumed that I would just finish it in one sitting and then go to bed. I was wrong. This was the first book that I have officially DNF (did not finish). I even made a new shelf for it. I hate not finishing a book but I was so angry I could not stop myself. Seriously.

angry

So why did I have problems with it? Let’s start with the writing. The author is probably obsessed with the word cute because already 1% in and I’ve seen it way too many times. Then… Are you seriously trying to rob me of the experience to connect with your characters? Basically, the part when Cooper and Allison fall in love is just stated and we have no experience of it. It’s the absolute worst because you just don’t get how are they in love? WTF happened apart from a “life-changing” kiss? Their date is described as follow: “We went to a nice italian restaurant and talked for 3 hours.” Wow, now I know why you guys are so special, right? NO. 

angry 2

What about characters? Due to Ms Steele’s writing I hated both of them. Honestly, they were so dumb. When I ranted about Beautiful Disaster I thought that was bad. No. I finished that book. I couldn’t finish this. Cooper is just some surfer that happens to finish college really fast and he loves English and he will be teaching in the fall. He’s plain annoying because he just saw Allison and knew that she was special. I know this happens in some romance books but I just do not believe in love at first sight. I get that you might find someone attractive but love needs time and build up. That’s what I think. Allison here is going to her senior year in the fall and this summer she decided to read classics like Pride and Prejudice and Dracula. She’s nearly 18 and apparently loooves English literature. I don’t usually pick up on this, but WHO hasn’t read Pride and Prejudice at high school before senior year and loves English lit? I find that very strange. That just made me dislike her more. I know, it might seem that I’m being unreasonable but unless you’ve read this, you cannot understand!

bullshit

So what happened to the plot that made me DNF this? I already wanted seriously give up after 29% but I was curious how are they going to end up in the same high school? The thing is, he already knew she was at high school and knew which school she went to. Also she knew about his teaching. So HOW THE HELL WILL IT HAPPEN? I give this to the author, that was the only thing in the plot that got me. But imagine my surprise when the stupidest thing happened. Or maybe I wasn’t surprised anymore because I knew this was an incredibly dumb book. I really want to keep this spoiler free so I’m not gonna say. But beware that I almost threw my kindle against the wall… And then I decided I am not gonna waste my time on this book any longer. I’m done at 44%.

smash

!

I seriously admire people that have finished this book. Even if the storyline picked up, it wouldn’t make a difference to me anymore. (And by reading some other reviews it doesn’t pick up.) I honestly can’t believe that this book has more than 3* on Goodreads. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE. Unless you’re trying to suffer – then go ahead and do this. After that, come here and tell me how it was. I don’t usually have this much hatred for a book and I never knew I could ever feel like this but I HATE THIS.

hulk smash

Rating: 0 out of 5 

Thank you for reading my hating rant!

Know-it-all

Leave a Reply

