on Unteachable by Leah Raeder.

Hello, there.

I’ve been waiting to read this book for a while and I was super excited to finally read it. And just so you know from the beginning, I LOVED IT! In the past, there were some disappointing books that had a similar theme – teacher/student romance. I will get into that later. I just want to say, Leah Raeder is a genius and here’s my review!

Synopsis:

unteachable

Maise O’Malley just turned eighteen, but she’s felt like a grown-up her entire life. The summer before senior year, she has plans: get into a great film school, convince her mom to go into rehab, and absolutely do not, under any circumstances, screw up her own future.

But life has a way of throwing her plans into free-fall.

When Maise meets Evan at a carnival one night, their chemistry is immediate, intense, and short-lived. Which is exactly how she likes it: no strings. But afterward, she can’t get Evan out of her head. He’s taught her that a hookup can be something more. It can be an unexpected connection with someone who truly understands her. Someone who sees beyond her bravado to the scared but strong girl inside.

That someone turns out to be her new film class teacher, Mr. Evan Wilke.

Maise and Evan resolve to keep their hands off each other, but the attraction is too much to bear. Together, they’re real and genuine; apart, they’re just actors playing their parts for everyone else. And their masks are slipping. People start to notice. Rumors fly. When the truth comes to light in a shocking way, they may learn they were just playing parts for each other, too.

Smart, sexy, and provocative, Unteachable is about what happens when a love story goes off-script.

(*spoilers free*)

Unteachable is absolutely brilliant. I was already super excited for it because of some other reviews on Goodreads, but I didn’t think that the book would surprise me that much. Right from the beginning, the writing of Ms Raeder got me. IT WAS PURE MAGIC. I don’t know how to describe it, but I could just feel colours bursting around me. Weird, right? But it was so beautiful. You should definitely read this book just because of the writing!

unicorn farts rainbow

The storyline of Unteachable might seem from the blurb similar to Slammed or Teach Mebut it is so much more. Where Slammed and Teach Me had a lot of new adult genre’s clichés and the age difference was only a few years, Unteachable is very realistic and explores the relationship of a 18-year-old and 33-year-old. Is it possible? Or is this age difference too much? Can there be real love or is it just infatuation? I was so fascinated by this portrayal of teacher/student romance! Pretty Little Liars romanticised it a lot, don’t you think? Ms Raeder definitely brought something different and refreshing into new adult genre.

The main character, Maisie is not like other new adult heroines. She is well aware of her issues and doesn’t sugar coat it. Her sense of humour is great throughout the book and I think I would genuinely like her in real life. (Or maybe I would be totally jealous of her good looks and overall coolness.) Her scenes with Evan were very hot, but other than that I did not particularly like him. He is a character with a past and flaws, but sometimes I found myself questioning him and his position of authority. Where Evan lacked, the supporting characters helped. Especially Maisie’s best friend Wesley, who I found to be a total babe. I don’t always demand realistic plot or characters, but Ms Raeder’s characters were very vivid and true.

I didn’t plan to read Unteachable in one sitting, but I just could not stop reading until I knew, how this is going to end. It wasn’t predictable and there were definitely a few plot twists that surprised me. The only problem I had was midway through the book. It got a bit boring and consisted of “alone time” between Maisie and Evan. To be honest, at that point I was wondering what are they going to do for the rest of the book? But it picked up nicely and I was very satisfied. The end surprised me a little, but it was very beautiful and I completely understand why Ms Raeder was against an epilogue.

I definitely recommend reading this book! Like I said before, the writing style alone is totally worth it! It’s so unique and you just understand the cover.

clapping

Rating: 5 out of 5

Thank you for reading and drop a comment.

Know-it-all

Leave a Reply

