on Epic Fail by Claire LaZebnik.

Hello there.

Today I bring you a retelling of Pride an Prejudice. I should have known that my favourite romances will be love/hate relationships, since this is my absolute favourite classic. I am a sucker for Mr Darcy and witty Elizabeth. Anyway, Epic Fail is set in high school in the USA (unexpected, right?) and it was quite a pleasant read.

Synopsis:

11103008

Will Elise’s love life be an epic win or an epic fail?

At Coral Tree Prep in Los Angeles, who your parents are can make or break you. Case in point:

As the son of Hollywood royalty, Derek Edwards is pretty much prince of the school—not that he deigns to acknowledge many of his loyal subjects.

As the daughter of the new principal, Elise Benton isn’t exactly on everyone’s must-sit-next-to-at-lunch list.

When Elise’s beautiful sister catches the eye of the prince’s best friend, Elise gets to spend a lot of time with Derek, making her the envy of every girl on campus. Except she refuses to fall for any of his rare smiles and instead warms up to his enemy, the surprisingly charming social outcast Webster Grant. But in this hilarious tale of fitting in and flirting, not all snubs are undeserved, not all celebrity brats are bratty, and pride and prejudice can get in the way of true love for only so long.

Review:

Epic Fail is the light-hearted retelling of Pride and Prejudice. Pick up this book if you want to relax, giggle and tiny little bit swoon. I’ve picked it up fully prepared that this is not going to be “the best book I have ever read” and enjoyed it.

It is way shorter and simpler than the original story and in some parts didn’t really seem realistic because it did copy Pride and Prejudice’s main plot. The characters were a bit of a cartoon of Elizabeth and Mr Darcy, but it didn’t bother me too much – except for the occasional nosiness and a bit of ignorance from Elise. Derek, the incarnation of Mr Darcy, wasn’t described more than brooding, handsome and rich, but at the end I kind of really liked the guy. Other characters seem a bit ridiculous e.g. incarnation of Lydia or of Mr Bennett (I don’t even remember their names in this book anymore). These flaws however did not distract me too much and I could happily carry on reading about sixteen/seventeen-year-olds that seem to have much more exciting life than I do at twenty.

I’m not gonna get too deep into the plot, but I kind of appreciated the not-so-much-drama approach and especially loved the next level cuteness at the end. I did think it ended kind of abruptly, just because the original didn’t say too much about the future, this book could have deal with the issues  of choosing colleges etc., considering it was mentioned in passing. It was a nice break from the emotional distress that Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock gave me few weeks ago!

Rating: 3 out of 5

Yours only,

know-it-all

 

Leave a comment